His Wild Highland Lass

His Wild Highland Lass

His Wild Highland Lass
Lady Sorcha Barclay has fled her sister’s husband’s castle because of his unwanted advances, except men steal her horse, and she makes the mistake of not keeping to the cover of the nearby forest. An awe-inspiring circle of standing stones capture her attention and she captures the attention of the laird who owns the land.
Laird Ronan Daziel takes Sorcha to his castle to protect her and give her a home, but before long, he wants much more. He’s duty-bound to take a wife whose clan wishes an alliance with his. So why does he long to have something more? Everyone loves the lass just as much as he does. But he has pledged his loyalty to his clan and taking Sorcha to wife could lead to battle on several fronts. How can he not take her for his own when she stole his heart from the first moment he laid eyes on her near the ancient standing stones on his lands?
Note: This is still available in Kissing the Highlander anthology now offered as an individual novella

10 thoughts on “His Wild Highland Lass

  1. I’m just in awe of your web site here. I’m going to be an author like you when I grow up. (I’m 59 already, but still a kid at heart.) Either you’re a genius with web design or you must have spent a lot on technical support setting things up. Any technical or design (or other) hints that you might toss my direction would surely be appreciated. I’m trying to write science fiction, but quality is quality no matter where its found.

    By the way, I really appreciate the way you’ve created an intense mood with those two paragraphs above. Also, the internal conflict of Ronan. I’m constantly struggling to bring conflict into my writing. In real life I shy away from it, so in my fiction my characters seem to do the same. Makes for a yawner of a story sometimes, but I fight it.

    Talmage

    • Thanks, Talmage! On the website, I just created it with WordPress. It’s not too hard. Took me a little time to figure out. I did the blog for a while, then attempted to create the website. My other website was awful. Horribly static. Lousy background designs. So this one is really easy to update and I love it. I just do a lot of Google searches when I can’t figure out how to do something. And they’re great about tech support. Have a question, just get on a chat with them and they’re super great at helping you out.

      For conflict, I’m the same way. Or was. I’m drawn to thriller, adventure stories, lots and lots of conflict. When I watch them, I’m riveted and don’t want to stop until I’m through. The same with a book. We want it to be compelling so that our readers don’t put them down. So how do you do that? You hook with mysteries. The unknown. You want to make the ordinary day, extraordinary. You need both external conflict and internal conflict. You need to show the scene, not tell it. You want to show the character’s life turned upside down. If the person is living the same old boring life, it’s…boring. So you want to make for a really interesting story.

      My favorite true story to tell is about my most memorable Thanksgiving ever. Everyone loves it, and asks that I don’t invite them for my Thanksgiving/Christmas dinners because some of them are truly memorable. lol Those are the fun ones to share.

      How many holidays have come and gone and they’re really not memorable? They were perfect. And perfect is boring. We want excitement, thrills, conflict!

      And when it’s a true story, it’s even better! Thanksgiving dinner was perfect with my daughter and mother, my son visiting with friends over the holiday, and wishes he had been home for all the excitement.
      Winter storm (nice conflictive setting when we rarely have really bad winter storms), ice, snow, wind howling.

      But everything’s fine. Until:
      Set a 6 hour plus log in the fireplace, and start it, and put on a funny Jackie Chan movie.
      Then disaster.
      Smoke (the vent is open)
      Yellow jackets begin flying out of the chimney and into the house.
      Log is burning really nicely.
      And the smoke is filling the house quickly.
      You see the conflict building?
      Not just that the smoke is filling the house, but we had to contend with the yellow jackets. They’re really vicious too.
      And a burning log that will last 6+ hours.
      And it kept on.
      My daughter wanted to spray hornet spray on the wasps. She’s terrified of them. Another wonderfully memorable experience. NOT.
      And I’m yelling, “No!” Because I’m afraid of the chemical reaction if she sprays pesticide that shoots out in such a long stream onto the fire.
      Anyway, suffice it to say, it was truly memorable and had us laughing for years. More happened. But that’s just to give you an idea. You have a ticking time bomb. The house is filling up with deadly smoke. but then the hornets come out, and so you have chaos all around you. And it’s not ending, but everything is getting worse. That’s how you have to do it. 🙂

      And good luck! I’ve known authors who were in their 80’s finally get published, so it’s all in the mind. You can do it! Just persevere! 🙂 Terry

      • Wow, what a great story! And your advice about story writing in general is wonderful. I’ve been at this for years, but I don’t read enough fiction to have a natural feeling for some of these things. I read tons of nonfiction, though. I’ve recently made a habit of reading a little fiction as part of my morning routine, just before writing. I think it’s helping. Than you for your help! 🙂

        I’ve got a wordpress blog, but I have no idea how to make it as nice as yours. I’ll do some googling on how to make a book cover and put it on my blog. Yours look amazing! Just gorgeous.

  2. Thanks! Yes, definitely read more fiction. I read a lot of young adult fiction before I wrote my first YA. Same thing with other kinds of fiction. I made two different sites. One is the blog that I do daily, and then my website. And I only post with new book release updates and try to keep my upcoming releases updated. So I really have two sites, the website and then the blog, and keep them separate. Oh, and I have a teddy bear website also, for all the bears I design. So three separate sites!

    I’ve spent a lot of time doing Googles for Youtube demonstrations on how to do things. It really helps! Thanks again! And good luck!

  3. Thank you! Good luck to you, too. You have certainly earned it!

    P.S. I just found your other site again: terrysphear.wordpress.com. Both of these are on wordpress.com, I notice. Everyone I talk to says I need to get a “real” website hosted by bluehost and import the WP.net templates, but I think that would be a huge disadvantage because I would not be able to expose my (eventual) books to all my (5,500) followers on wordpress.com. You are the first author I’ve found whom I think might agree with me on that.

    Anyway, I really appreciate your work and all the help you’ve given me today. 🙂 Thank you.

    Talmage
    storiform

    • I’ve created two websites using WordPress. The other is http:www.celticbears.com

      These sites are so much better and easier to update. I have a lot bigger following on both than I had on the other sites, and with the drop-down menus, it looks much more professional. I was going to pay someone to do all that “fancy” stuff, but he was saying how much work it was going to be with all the titles I have out, etc, etc, etc, so I just found WordPress and did it myself. 🙂 The main problem was updates. I’m constantly having to update my website, so I wanted the flexibility to do so. Easily and quickly.

      • That makes perfect sense to me. Thank you for sharing those interesting details. I’ve recently signed up for an online course that Joanna Penn recommended. It’s about how to reach fiction and nonfiction readers on the internet. Almost all of it is for people who are much further along in the process of writing books than I am. You certainly know all the stuff they’re talking about, but I’d be happy to tell you more about it if you’re curious. It’s a course that I’m paying 57 dollars a month for, times 12 months. If Joanna Penn hadn’t taken it herself and recommended it, I never would have taken the plunge. The course says that success in selling books is mainly about getting email addresses and building a community that way. I had already heard this concept in a book called, “Make a Killing on Kindle.” I’m less than half way through the course, but it seems valuable, at least to a newbie like me. It’s probably all yesterday’s news to a professional like you, but let me know if you’d like to hear more details about what I’m learning. You never know if some little idea might be useful.

  4. Terry you are exceedingly helpful! I’m enjoying having a look around at your website and buying a book or 2, 🙂 Thank You – for stopping in at mine earlier! cheers, Debi

Leave a Reply

